04
Oct
13

Bugs and migraines and Friday, oh my!

It comes as no surprise to anyone who knows me that I’ve been loving the recent warm-up. If we had the warmest Fall ever, that would be just fine with me. Car windows continue to be down, with loud singing along to the radio, unless my son is in the car, who tends to be very cross about other people singing, shouting, “MOM, STOP SINGING! STOP IT!” The other day, I started home from work and as soon as I got on the highway, I noticed this HUGE, NASTY brown bug, I have no idea what it was but it looked like a big brown beetle with wings that had flown straight out of Hell and was sitting next to the window on the inside of the car. Trying hard not to wreck, I cracked the window and was screaming, “Aaah! Aaah! Aaah!” and hoping he would just fly right out of the open window once the air hit him. But he didn’t. The force of the air blew him onto the passenger seat, almost right at eye level. I was SHRIEKING now and trying really hard to stay on the road without wrecking. People who aren’t really afraid of bugs just don’t get what an emergency-level thing this is. But it was bad. I grabbed up a package of kleenex and tried to swat at him, and he flew off into the back seat. I couldn’t really look behind me for very long, but I didn’t see him back there. I thought maybe I got him, and I’d vacuum up his carcass next time I took my car somewhere I could clean it out.

But that isn’t what happened. Apparently, he just found his way onto something of mine, my coat or my tote bag, and rode inside my apartment with me, as he reappeared that night in the bedroom as I was getting ready for bed. I had my back turned and was taking off my jewelry and my husband came in and was like “Holy fuck!” as the massive beetle from Hell ascended to the ceiling and then began flying around looking for a way out. I left and shut the door, telling him not to come out until it was dead. Because division of labor.

I had to go run an errand and when I came back, he was sitting on the couch with D watching TV. “I can’t find it,” he said. “I tried. I looked everywhere.” OMG fuck. How I got to sleep that night, I don’t know. Bug From Hell resurfaced last night as I was leaving to run yet another errand. A big shadow passed by me and I was like OMFG IS THAT HIM? I am OUT OF HERE. DISPATCH IT. The bug finally met his end while I was gone.

Yesterday, after four really, really stressful days at work with a lot of overtime and a lot of pressure, I got a migraine. I am, luckily, not one of those people who gets migraines. This was only the 3rd one I’ve ever had in my life, but it was so, so bad. By the time I got home from work, it was so bad I was nauseated as fuck and dizzy every time I got up. I had planned to try to do some yoga to relax yesterday evening, but bending over was like someone stabbing me in the head with a knife, so no. I managed to drink a cup of tea and realized the right side of my jaw was really, really sore. I must have been clenching my teeth all day long, or at least in the night. I basically did nothing all night but sit and watch TV.

My jaw is still sore today, but at least the latest Giant Project is over at work, and I am so looking forward to a fun night with some new and old friends, flowing wine, vibrant interaction between like-minded open souls and a release of the week’s tension.

 


0 Responses to “Bugs and migraines and Friday, oh my!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

