….

I have no title for this post as I’m kind of out of it, mentally.  The Fry is back to nursing 3 or 4 times a night.  Something must be done about this and I’m sure he won’t like it, but I need a break.  I need some sleep, and it’s really not good for him to be up that many times during the night, I think.  Don’t they grow when they’re asleep?  While I know he needs his nutrients (he’s still very low weight), I wonder if he wouldn’t actually get more out of what he consumes during the day if he were sleeping deeper and longer at night, so we’re going to enact another Plan tonight.  We had gotten him down to a max of 2 sessions overnight and that was going well but then he got sick, and it’s been out the window since then even though he’s been better for awhile.

In addition, I’m not sure if it’s teething-related (still no teeth) or introduction of a sippy cup at daycare or what, but he has been tearing up my nips again.  This morning I saw blood on my nursing pad and he probably ingested some of it.  And they’re SO sore, pumping is barely better than nursing.  Hopefully this will improve over the next couple of days.  It’s just never been 100% pain free for me since the beginning, particularly on the L side, and it seems like I get better during the week when I’m pumping but not nursing as much, and then on the weekends when he nurses I get sore again.

I’ve also started back into having more of a monthly cycle, or 1.5 monthly, as the case may be with me – I’m in excruciating pain now from ovulation and it was on a different side last month so I’m sure that’s what it is; it was painful before I had the Fry, but now it’s even worse.  I feel like I’ve got a knife sticking out of me.  It hurts to even have my stomach sag so today I’m wearing a really restrictive girdle type undergarment just to help with the pain.

Between exhaustion, nip pain and the stabbing pain in my side, I don’t see how I’m supposed to be working out and getting back into shape.  I think maybe people who get back into shape after having a baby either formula feed, or don’t have a baby who nurses all night long.

Leave a Reply

