Buzzing

Despite the recent drop in temps, Spring is bouncing back (ha) and a lot of shit is happening. I am very tired, from a very packed day yesterday (the evening portion being the most fun), but I also feel kind of a buzzing energy going on. So many things are happening or are on the near horizon, and I feel an itch to get out and DO stuff. Like my mojo is working, you know?

I look at that old fat lady in the mirror every morning and can’t figure out why she looks so bad. But then other people make me feel loved, creative, appreciated, lusted for. Like I’m a great Mom and a great friend and maybe it doesn’t matter that I’ll never be a size 6 again. I’m not a girl, I’m a woman who knows what she likes and doesn’t like and doesn’t need to pretend to impress anyone about anything any longer. I may not know what years different battles were fought, but if you want to know how the Beach Boys were connected to Charles Manson, I can explain that. Or who Joni Mitchell was writing about when she wrote the album Court & Spark, and what was going on in her life that spawned those beautiful songs. Or how Laura Nyro broke David Geffen’s heart. Or who Joan Baez wrote “Sweet Sir Galahad” about. I can tell you that shit, and more. If you want to have a drink or coffee and talk about those things, I’m your gal.

Not sure what’s in the air, but I like it. (oh, and RIP to John Cipollina, singer of this great song)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

