Turn some pages

CLEskyline

I’ve managed to lose a few pounds by paying a bit more attention to my diet and exercise stuff. Back on track from my January goals, and planning for more progress in coming months.

I’m also doing pretty good with getting shit done these days. “Adulting,” as they say. I got the outdoor pavilion reserved for my kid’s birthday party in May, which required sending an email at 6:05 a.m. the day the reservations opened up because you can’t email before 6am that day, and if you wait until the next day, most of the Saturdays are already booked up. I also got him signed up this morning for his next set of swim classes, which start next month. And I’m seeing my tax guy on Thursday to start that painful process. I just want to get it over with and start on whatever my payment plan is going to be.

I wrote a piece for Dark Room tonight, which I hope to tweak at lunch or right after work so it’s ready for a reading this evening. And at the end of the evening, we’re all going to listen to the next episode of a dramatic podcast I’ve been involved in recording. These things help my creative side feel nurtured, which is really important to my well being.

I’m going out more, participating in activities, making new friends and getting together with existing friends I haven’t seen as much as I’ve wanted to. I’m accepting invitations to parties, planning dinners with friends, working on playdates for my kid. There are people who want to see me and people I want to see and I want to do better this whole year on making those connections, valuing people and spending time with them. It makes my life feel richer than any amount of money ever could.

It’s feeling like spring here this week, with temps in the 50s and 60s, and I just want to be out of my home and doing ALL THE THINGS. Hibernation period is coming to a close. I’m mulling over plans for the rest of the year. I still feel 2016 is on track to be a great and exciting year for me, even if it’s not shaping up how I originally imagined and hoped. Roll on.

Leave a Reply

