Too Late To Run

back-to-work

It’s back to work today for most of us. Those of us “lucky” enough to be employed, those of us with a place to go to and work to do, that must be done, even though it doesn’t seem all that important in the grand scheme of life. Especially after a few days off.

If the turning of the new year has taught me anything, it’s that I need to make more and significant changes in my life so that I enjoy it more. I’m working on that already. I started in December, with working out more and branching out in my style of cooking, and it’s going pretty well so far. But I’m dreaming bigger and reaching further. I have ridiculously lofty goals for 2017 and I don’t care how hard I have to push in pursuit of them, pursuing them will make me feel alive, and so that’s what I’ll do. I am focusing more on me and my life (which in turn includes my son’s life, I have goals there as well), since there’s little I can do about the chaos unfolding nationally.

I’m not the type to list all my goals publicly. Suffice to say that by the end of this year, I will still be me, but hopefully an improved version of me, living an improved version of my life. I think when you stop trying, you’re really done. And I’m not done. Until they drop the bomb on us. Which I’m trying not to think about.

For now though, there is just the work. And the dishes, the laundry, the bill paying, the coming icy weather, the hard slog through the next three months that tests the mental mettle of every Clevelander. Are you slogging along beside me? Let me know if you want to grab a drink and have a bitch session. I’m down. We do what we need to in order to get through.

Onward.

 

Leave a Reply

