I Ain’t Gonna Stop

It’s only the 25th of January, but my personal theme for this year has already emerged: STRONG.

This is informing everything I do, everything I am, everything I want to be. I wasn’t looking for it, but I recognize a theme when I see one, and so I’m embracing it and will weave it into my thoughts and actions and heart.

I am strong. I am getting stronger with more working out, weight lifting. I am not thin. My goal is not to be thin. It’s to be stronger, and I am consciously working on that. I will transform accordingly physically however I will transform. Slowly, so as to avoid injury. This is a journey, not a race.

I am strong. I am working on improving my writing, getting it closer to right the first time, and actively and passionately pursuing as many writing leads as possible so I can be published more frequently in 2017. That’s working so far – I have queried and been accepted twice already this year; one piece is going up within the next week or so. The other I have yet to write, but I will do that soon – the query was accepted by a nationally well-known site (to me, at least).

I am strong. I am accepting more invitations, changing my life up to accommodate unexpected visits, trips, happy hours, literary receptions, birthday parties, playdates, whatever. Life is too short to always say no, so I am working on yes, on showing up more and seeing people more. I am a social creature and I crave social interaction. I am entertaining more as well. Play date or wine night or whatever, it’s happening.

I am strong. Emotionally and mentally, I’m not letting life drag me down. I can’t have everything I want, and many things don’t go the way I would like, but I have many OTHER things, and am extremely fortunate. I recognize that and accept it. I am not interested in negative people, I won’t spend time with people who don’t respect me. I seek friendship and acceptance and love, and there is plenty of it in my world, and there are always avenues yet to explore. I am lucky.

I am strong. I have stepped up my political and social activism, which is sorely needed in this dark time in America. I will not shut up. I will not back down. I will not acquiesce my liberties. If you want to lie down and get fucked, go ahead. I will fight.

[photo credit: Thomas Ondrey, The Plain Dealer]

Leave a Reply

